Skip to content
January 24, 2011 / chris-the-quilter

Design Wall……

after you have looked at my progress, go look at Judy’s blog to see all of the other amazing things going on around Blog-land
Insanity II, just over 25% completed

Thanks to my husband (love you!!), I now know that there are 2,674 hexagons in this piece so far

that’s 25.9% of the finished count of 10,339 hexies to make a queen sized quilt

I have been piecing since the 24th July, 2010, or for a total of 185 days

an average of 14.45 hexies a day

*sigh*, that sounds so little progress when it’s written out like that

but there have been days when I haven’t added anything. days where my arms have hurt because of too much sewing the day(s) before, or I’ve run out of fabric

…anyways, I thought the numbers were pretty cool ๐Ÿ˜‰

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. cbabineau / Jan 24 2011 3:24 pm

    Oh my! How brave of you ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Cathy Shepherd / Jan 24 2011 4:43 pm

    That’s a lot of hexies, a staggering number! But, it is absolutely gorgeous, and will be mind boggling when done.

  3. Jo's Country Junctio / Jan 24 2011 6:22 pm

    WOW! That is TOTALLY gorgeous. I am SLOWLY working on a hexie project too and I keep telling my kids, if I die DO NOT GIVE THIS QUILT TO GOODWILL OR LET IT END UP ON AN AUCTION OR AT AN ANTIQUE STORE!! Blood, sweat and tears go into hexie quilts. I only work on mine in the car or an occasional movie night here. LOVE yours.

  4. Tamera / Jan 24 2011 6:29 pm

    Wow! That’s dedication to a quilt. But, like you, I probably would have figured all those numbers, too, lol. I like doing things like that.

    It’s going to be stunning when it’s finished!

  5. Judy D in AZ / Jan 24 2011 7:19 pm

    Wow! That is a huge project but it will be worth every minute. Keep us posted. I love to see it grow.

    Judy

  6. Chris / Jan 24 2011 9:48 pm

    OMG! That makes my arms tired too. What a lot of work you have taken on, but the result is looking so lovely.

  7. Sue Daurio / Jan 25 2011 1:55 am

    oh my goodness that is absolutely amazing!!

  8. Connie in VA / Jan 25 2011 2:31 am

    This is going to be spectacular!

  9. Barb in MI / Jan 25 2011 12:21 pm

    No question about it: your numbers are cool! Wow, your quilt is amazing and I agree, you are a brave tackling such a project.

  10. Karen S / Jan 25 2011 5:21 pm

    This is just gorgeous!

  11. Peggy in SW MO / Jan 25 2011 8:19 pm

    WOW and I think I have a mountain to climb making 170…3 1/2 inch nine patches…not even compared to your task!! This quilt is going to be so beautiful. Thanks for stopping by my blog and I will look forward to seeing your progress on this..

  12. Maggie / Jan 25 2011 11:55 pm

    WOW……..I am so impressed. It is just beautiful. Don’t worry about the numbers they will take care of themselves. It’s just lovely.

Leave a Reply

